Red Oak Arrives

Red Oak is arguably the most popular hardwood in the United States. It is hard, strong, and readily available at most lumber yards. However, Red Oak is not known for it’s rot and water resistance, therefore I will have to take great care to stain and seal every panel and crevice to ensure water proofing. is I’ve purchased some Red Oak Veneer Core panels at 8′ x 4′ at 3/4″ thickness which means they are very sturdy.

Read more about Red Oak here if you’re interested: http://www.wood-database.com/red-oak/

If you order over $500 of wood then you get it delivered and carried which is awesome! Got 10 panels of Red Oak to finish the solid Northern wall of the house. Sealing off one side completely will allow me to use my tarps more sparingly and also solidify the structure through shear more by having hardwood surfaces bind all the steel together.

Drawing out the first 10 panels that I will be placing on there. There are 3 full panels that will go on here (see the ones with the full X on them) and the rest need to be cut. Arguably I could cut all the panels out by hand with a circular saw (except the panel with a window), but my intention was to use a CNC router for the entire project. However since this is the first wall and the wood is already here, I figured I would start by hand and use the CNC as appropriate for the rest of the project.

7 out of the 10 panels delivered and carried into the shed. It would be nice if they didn’t put sharpie on the sides lol… had to sand that off and sharpie goes deeper than you would expect!!

First panel up! It was a bit difficult to figure out how to do this at first. I originally wanted to clamp the plywood there and drill it in place but I ended up needing another person to hold the entire panel while I piloted then drilled screws in. It worked well but the bricks were definitely helpful to lower the amount of lifting needed. Flush to the bottom so that water will drip off the wood to the ground eventually.

And here’s what it looks like from the inside! Red Oak on the vertical faces and Birch from Home Depot on the bottom. I like the Red Oak because it’s a little darker but I also like the look with the exposed steel. I could easily use the horizontal beams as shelving or something useful but the original idea is insulation, wiring, and another piece of wood to finish.

Overall at this point it’s pretty fun to imagine the office space. This is near the front of the house looking out with the framed window and just getting even 2 panels up made the interior feel more enclosed and more “tiny”. This was the easy part and now finishing this one wall will hopefully enhance the feeling of being completely indoor my tiny house!

Leave a Reply

